Open the Alert Ticker
COVID-19 Business Recovery
COVID-19 Business Resources
Chamber Honors Local Volunteers

Chamber Honors Local Volunteers
Chamber Honors Local Volunteers
Chamber Honors Local Volunteers

(from left) Dawn Glynn, Jennifer Smith, Darleen Mastin, Roland Davis, RPC Tracy Agyeman, and Judith ScottThe Chamber held its 2012 Hampton Roads Volunteer Recognition Luncheon on September 25 at 12pm at the Marriott Chesapeake. This annual event brought together more than 125 business leaders and elected officials from the region to honor volunteers in the Hampton Roads region. 

During the luncheon, several outstanding volunteers received awards for their accomplishments and contributions. Chesapeake Mayor Alan Krasnoff addressed the crowd, speaking about volunteerism and congratulating the honorees.  Krasnoff said, “Thank you for your focus, dedication and for your service.”

Chamber Chair Deborah Stearns and Chesapeake Mayor Alan KrasnoffJudith S. Scott, Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary for Portfolio Recovery Associates received the 2012 Marian P. Whitehurst Women in Leadership Award.  This award, created in 2009, is given to a woman who has attained and embodies the highest level of professional excellence in Hampton Roads, and who has distinguished herself through volunteer service to the community.  The award is named after Marian P. Whitehurst (1924-1991), former Chesapeake Mayor, who is described as a visionary with quiet dignity and integrity.  This year’s award recipient, Judith S. Scott founded PRA’s Office of General Counsel 14 years ago as the only in-house attorney.  She since has expanded the office to a team of 12 attorneys and other professional staff.  Prior to working at PRA, Ms. Scott was Director of Old Dominion University’s Virginia Peninsula Campus, Senior Counsel for the Office of the Governor of Virginia and the Virginia Housing Authority, as well as Assistant Attorney General for the Commonwealth of Virginia.  In addition, Ms. Scott has been a frequent volunteer for Junior Achievement and the United States Department of Veterans Affairs’ Women’s Equality Day Program.  She is a member of the Board of Directors of the United Way of South Hampton Roads, and has served on its African American Leadership Giving Initiative Executive Council. Ms. Scott has been recognized by the Virginia Bar Association for her devotion to the Commonwealth as a VBA Community Servant and as a VBA Pro Bono Servant, having devoted her time to provide free legal services to those who cannot afford counsel.  

(from left) Patrick Reynolds, Chair of the Chamber's Chesapeake Division; Judith Scott; and Dr. Linda Rice, Provost of Tidewater Community College's Chesapeake Campus and 2011 Whitehurst Award winnerAccepting the award, Scott said, “My heart is filled and I’m inspired by all the volunteer award recipients today.”  Scott told the crowd that she started volunteering as a young girl in the Girl Scouts.  She believes in serving and helping other people at all times, and has instilled this belief in her daughters.  “It’s important to encourage others to volunteer,” she said.    

Dawn S. Glynn, President of TowneBank Chesapeake, was presented with the Suffolk Division’s 2012 Leadership AwardGlynn is a founding officer of TowneBank and has served as Executive Vice President and Director of Private Banking for seven years.  She is actively involved in her community and served as a board member of Bon Secours Maryview Foundation, Great Bridge Battlefield & Waterways History Foundation, and the Chesapeake Regional Health Foundation. 

Glynn said, “Volunteering means each of us giving our time, talents and blessings.”  She explained that her role as a volunteer began many years ago and she’s been inspired by two special people –– Star Oliver and Bob Aston.  “These two embody volunteerism and TowneBank is committed to improving Hampton Roads.”

Jennifer A. Smith, Administrative Director of Neuroscience Service Line at Bon Secours, received the Portsmouth Division’s 2012 Leadership Award.  Ms. Smith serves as Chair of the Hampton Roads Chamber of Commerce’s Portsmouth Division, a position she also held in 2011. She is also on the board of the South Hampton Roads American Heart Association, and the Portsmouth Partnership, and is the President of the American College of Neuroscience Administrators.  She continually participates in numerous health events throughout Hampton Roads to improve the wellbeing and quality of life for local communities across the region. 

Smith said, “I’ve been fortunate to volunteer with many organizations in the region.  Because of this involvement, I have met great people who I might otherwise not have had the opportunity to meet.”

RPC Tracy S. Agyeman, Religious Program Chief of the United States Navy was presented with the Norfolk Division’s 2012 Leadership Award. Chief Agyeman effectively manages the Navy’s only joint Command Chapel program.  She volunteers weekly for the Feed Families Program and for community projects for First Landing State Park, Norfolk Zoo and the Botanical Gardens.  Her volunteer efforts have enabled the Norfolk Zoo and Botanical Gardens to continue their programs.

“Volunteering makes me happy and brings me joy, and I know I’m helping the community,” said RPC Agyeman. 

Darleen A. Mastin, Senior Vice President and Chief Operations Officer for Optima Health, was awarded the Virginia Beach Division’s 2012 Leadership Award.  Ms. Mastin started her 34-year healthcare career as a Registered Nurse and advanced from Nursing Administration to Vice President of Sentara Norfolk General Hospital, and is currently Senior Vice President of Operations at Optima Health.  She has served on the Board of Directors for the United Way of South Hampton Roads and the Tidewater Emergency Medical Services Council.  Also, Ms. Mastin was the 2006 Chair of Sentara’s United Way campaign, which resulted in a record setting level of donations from Sentara employees. 

When she accepted the award, Mastin said, “It’s about giving back.  I’ve been blessed so I want to help others who are less fortunate.”

Roland Davis, President and Owner of Sajomach Business Services, Inc., was presented with the Chesapeake Division’s 2012 Leadership Award.  Mr. Davis is one of only 75 to be certified in Mergers and Acquisitions Master Intermediary (M&AMI) worldwide.  He is also a Certified Business Intermediary (CBI), Certified Machinery Equipment Appraiser (CMEA). Mr. Davis serves on the Chamber of Commerce’s Chesapeake Division Board, and is Chairman for the 50th Anniversary of the City of Chesapeake.  Other associations he volunteers with include the Chesapeake Rotary Club, Chesapeake Regional Health Foundation, Chesapeake Boys and Girls Club, Chesapeake Economic Development Authority, and Chesapeake Wine Festival.

“Volunteerism is the ability to have people work together for a great cause,” Davis said.  He added, “I would like to thank the Chamber for all it does in the community.”

The Chamber thanks sponsors: TowneBank (Presenting); Portfolio Recovery Associates, Inc. (Gold); and Controlled Conditions Corp. (Bronze).

Join Us
Youtube Icon
Linkedin Icon
Instagram Icon
Contact Icon