Open the Alert Ticker
COVID-19 Business Recovery
COVID-19 Business Resources
Chamber Honors Local Volunteers

Chamber Honors Local Volunteers
Chamber Honors Local Volunteers
Chamber Honors Local Volunteers
Chesapeake Volunteer Recognition Luncheon Held on September 8

Chesapeake Mayor Alan KrasnoffThe Hampton Roads Chamber of Commerce held its 2010 Chesapeake Volunteer Recognition Luncheon on September 8 at the SpringHill Suites in Chesapeake.  This annual event brought together nearly 150 business leaders and elected officials from the region to honor Chamber volunteers in Chesapeake.  Mayor Alan Krasnoff provided remarks during the luncheon.  Several outstanding volunteers received awards for their accomplishments and contributions.

The Honorable Faye W. Mitchell, Clerk of the Circuit Court, received the 2010 Marian P. Whitehurst Women in Leadership Award.  This award, created in 2009, is given to a woman who has attained and embodies the highest level of professional excellence in Chesapeake, and who has distinguished herself through volunteer service to the community.  The award is named after Marian P. Whitehurst (1924-1991), who has been described as a visionary with quiet dignity and integrity.  Whitehurst presided over Chesapeake City Council as Mayor from 1972-1980.  Faye Mitchell began her professional career in court administration in 1995. The citizens of Chesapeake elected her as Clerk of Court of the Circuit Court, and she began her eight-year term in 2004.  Faye is a 2010 graduate of LEAD Hampton Roads, a leadership program of the Hampton Roads Chamber of Commerce, and she provides internships and externship programs with several local high schools, technical colleges, and universities.

(from left) Marie Ringler, Faye Mitchell, and Kevin Cosgrove, Esq.The award was presented to Faye by the 2009 award recipient, the Honorable Barbara Carraway, City of Chesapeake Treasurer.  Faye said, “I am happy to receive this award. You don’t do this single handedly.  I have had a lot of support from my staff and family.”  She added, “I have gotten so much more from the city of Chesapeake, than I’ve given.”

Marie Ringler of Dale Carnegie Training, was honored with the Chesapeake Division’s 2009 Chairman’s Award.  Marie has dedicated a tremendous amount of time to the Chamber and has served as the Chamber’s Chesapeake Division Membership Chair for three years.  She volunteers with a variety of other organizations throughout the community.   

The Chesapeake Division’s 2010 Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Kevin Cosgrove, Esq. of Hunton & Williams LLP.  Kevin is a longtime volunteer of the Chamber and served as the Chesapeake Division Chair in 2009.

Thank you to sponsors: TowneBank (Presenting), Controlled Conditions Corp. (Silver), Chesapeake Economic Development Department, Chesapeake Regional Medical Center, Kaufman & Canoles, P.C., Old Dominion Steel & Container Co. (Bronze) and Engineering Services Inc., Great Bridge International, and Volvo Penta of the Americas (Program).

Join Us
Youtube Icon
Linkedin Icon
Instagram Icon
Contact Icon