COVID-19 Business Recovery
COVID-19 Business Resources
BRAVO! A Celebration of Leadership, 2020

BRAVO! A Celebration of Leadership, 2020
BRAVO! A Celebration of Leadership, 2020
BRAVO! A Celebration of Leadership, 2020

On October 22nd, The Hampton Roads Chamber hosted the annual BRAVO! A Celebration of Leadership event to honor Hampton Roads First Citizen, the Julian Hirst Award and to celebrate the LEAD Hampton Roads Signature 2020 Class.


Retired Virginia Beach Police Chief Jim Cervera was honored at the event with the Julian Hirst Award. The Julian Hirst Award is the highest honor bestowed on a LEAD Hampton Roads Alumni. Named in honor of a beloved founder of LEAD, this award recognizes a graduate who exemplifies excellence in community and professional leadership.  Upon accepting his award, Jim Cervera highlighted the correlation between having a thriving business community and public safety. Cervera also spoke on the future of training in the police force. “It is time to take our young officers and insist on higher education and higher training. Every social problem is easily fixed with more police training. We will be at the forefront of a lot of these social issues happening,” said Cervera.


Old Dominion President John Broderick was honored with the First Citizen of the Year Award, an award that recognizes and celebrates a leader whose tireless efforts have led our region into fruitful partnerships and greater prosperity. Broderick is the longest-serving President in ODU’s history, and is known for his reputation of being friendly and approachable, but also tireless in the insistence on forging progress for ODU.  Broderick accepted the award and thanked the Hampton Roads Chamber, citing that the collaboration between Old Dominion and the business community is invaluable and key to the success of not just ODU, but the community as a whole.

Congratulations to Jim Cervera and John Broderick.  Thank you for your leadership in the Hampton Roads Community.


The event also celebrated the graduation of the LEAD Hampton Roads Class of 2020.  The class chose Angela Lombardi to speak on their behalf.  She spoke on the experiences they shared, and how they all remained committed to the program virtually during the pandemic.  She shared a heartfelt story of how the class visited the Food Bank and learned that food insecurity is an issue impacting Hampton Roads. With the pandemic, food insecurity increased.  Children who often rely on nutritious meals from school found themselves home without access to nutritious meals. This issue spoke to the LEAD class, so they dedicated their time and talents to raise $10,230 for the food bank as their class project during the pandemic.


Congratulations to the LEAD Hampton Roads Class of 2020.


Jana Allen-Bishop, College of William and Mary

Katina Barnes, Tidewater Community College

Angela Blue, Foodbank of Southeastern Virginia and the Eastern Shore

Trish Blue, Cherry Bekaert, LLP

Jacob “Jake” Brandspigel, STIHL Inc.

Lauren Ciampoli, Junior Achievement of Greater Hampton Roads

Rahul Dharni, Raytheon Technologies

Benjamin “Ben” Equitan, Ramiscal Equitan Advisors, LLC

Renee Felts, Old Dominion Energy

Kacy Futrell, Hampton Economic Development

Jonathan V. Gallo, Vandeventer Black, LLP

John Garrett, TowneBank

Erin Girardi, Hampton Roads Sanitation District

Anthony “Tony” Goodwin, G&A Marketing

Ron Green, Virginia Port Authority, Port of Virginia 

Amy Grom, Naval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren Division, Dam Neck Activity

Maureen Grover, Southern Bank and Trust Company

Jessica Hayes, Wolcott, Rivers, Gates

Ian Johnston, Clark Nexsen

Tara Jones, Fulton Bank

Lacy Kuller, Chesapeake Humane Society

Angela “Angie” Lombardi, The Franklin Johnston Group

Amy Mallinson, Virginia Beach Schools Federal Credit Union

Mavis McKenley, AMG National Trust Company

Leila Mills, Phillips & Peters, PLLC

Susan Murphy, SunTrust Bank

Sheridan Nelson, Abyssinia Baptist Church

Sherri Parsons, Parsons Real Estate Group

Geoffrey “Geoff” Poston, Cushman & Wakefield, Thalhimer

Matthew “Scott” Price, Old Point National Bank

Samuel “Sam” Rapoport, S.L. Nusbaum Realty, Co.

Colby Raymond, Tidewater Home Funding

Damian Seitz, Clark Nexsen

Lauren Sloan, Franklin Southhampton Economic Development

Maury “Andrew” Stone, Jr., Beacon Harbor Wealth Advisors

William “Matt” Tuttle, Total Business Solutions, Inc.

Hunter Walsh, Hampton Roads Chamber

Terri Washington, Girl Scouts of the Colonial Coast

Emily Webb, Eastern Virginia Medical School

Catherine Williamson, VisitNorfolk

Ashley Woodous Dale, ACCESS College Foundation

Alec Yuzhbabenko, Hanbury Architects

Steve Zollos, Senior Services of Southeastern Virginia


Special thank you to our sponsors, TowneBank and Clark Nexsen for making this event possible.

Join Us
Youtube Icon
Linkedin Icon
Instagram Icon
Contact Icon