COVID-19 Business Recovery
COVID-19 Business Resources
Chamber Announces its 2011 Leadership

Chamber Announces its 2011 Leadership
Chamber Announces its 2011 Leadership
Chamber Announces its 2011 Leadership

At the September 29, 2010 Board of Directors meeting, the following individuals were elected as the Chamber’s 2011 officers. These leaders will take office at the Chamber’s Annual Meeting of the Membership on December 8. The Chamber thanks its 2011 officers for their commitment to serve. 

Nelson AdcockChair - Nelson Adcock began his career at the Norfolk Naval Shipyard in 1980 as a Nuclear Engineer. He left the shipyard in 1984 and joined Furmanite America, Inc. as a staff engineer. In October 1987,he became President of Furmanite America. In 1992, Nelson co-founded a consulting engineering company, GeoEnvironmental Resources, Inc., which specializes in geotechnical, environmental, hazardous material, and mechanical engineering. GeoEnvironmental Resources, Inc. has completed over 5,000 projects for more than 700 clients. Local projects have included the Convergence Center development, the USS Wisconsin berthing, Virginia Beach Convention Center, 31st Street Hilton Hotel, and the Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Terminal. Nelson served as the Chamber’s 2010 Chair.


Maurice JonesChair-Elect - Maurice A. Jones is President of Pilot Media, the largest print, digital and direct marketing organization in Hampton Roads. Pilot Media’s businesses include The Virginian-Pilot, Pilot Direct, Pilot Interactive and Targeted Publications + Media. Maurice has served as President and Publisher of The Virginian-Pilot since 2008. Maurice joined Landmark Media Enterprises, owner of Pilot Media, in 2005, serving as Vice President of the Landmark Publishing Group. In 2006, Jones joined Pilot Media as Vice President and General Manager. Maurice has served the Hampton Roads Chamber of Commerce as Vice Chair of both the Marketing & Communications Committee and Membership Committee.


Deborah StearnsTreasurer - Deborah K. Stearns, CPM, SIOR, is Senior Vice President at Harvey Lindsay Commercial Real Estate. Deborah’s experience includes office property sales and leasing, commercial development, mergers and acquisitions, and operational management. She is focused on brokerage and business development for the company’s brokerage and property management operations. Deborah is active in the community and serves on the Board of several State and regional organizations. 


Also serving as members of the 2011 Executive Committee:

Immediate Past Chair

Robert M. Boyd



President and CEO

Jack Hornbeck, CCE

Hampton Roads Chamber of Commerce


Vice Chair, Communications & Marketing

Susan Blackman

Willcox & Savage, PC


Vice Chair, Governmental Affairs

David Durham

SunTrust Bank


Vice Chair, Leadership Programs

Gregory French

Spectrum Financial


Vice Chair, Membership

Marino Santarelli

Wachovia, A Wells Fargo Company


Vice Chair, Small Business

William Holloran, Jr.

DZ Atlantic, Inc.


Vice Chair, Sports

C. Grigsby Scifres, Esq.

Willams Mullen


Co-Chair, Sustainable Resources Campaign

Michael Dudley

Sentara Optima Health Plans


Co-Chair, Sustainable Resources Campaign

John W. Wilson

WBR Insurance Agency LLC


Chair, Sync757

Jason Kuller

Signs By Tomorrow-Chesapeake


Chair, Hampton Roads Business PAC

W. S. Miller, III

KITCO Fiber Optics


Vice Chair, At Large

Susan Archer

Old Dominion Steel & Container Co., Inc.


Vice Chair, At Large

Deborah Butler

Norfolk Southern Corp.


Vice Chair, At Large

Stephen Romine

LeClair Ryan


Vice Chair, At Large

Leigh Woisard

Cox Communications, LLC


Chair, Chesapeake Division

Shepelle Watkins-White

ShepelleWatkinsWhite Consulting & Law, PLLC


Chair, Norfolk Division

Michael Fowler

Merrill Lynch


Chair, Portsmouth Division

Jennifer Smith

Bon Secours Maryview Medical Center


Chair, Suffolk Division

Darren Schultz



Chair, Virginia Beach Division

Linwood Branch

Days Inn at the Beach


General Counsel

Hugh L. Patterson, Esq.

Willcox & Savage, PC


Individuals elected to serve as members of the Chamber’s Board of Directors beginning in December 2010:

Bill Bell

Northrup Grumman Shipbuilding


Mike Benedetto



Wynn Dixon

Chesapeake Regional Medical Center


Gaelo de la Fuente

Farm Fresh


Dwight Etheridge

Tivest Development & Construction


Steve Fuschetti

Gannett Media Technologies International


Aubrey Layne

Great Atlantic Real Estate


Joe Witt

Old Point National Bank


Jim Wofford

MacArthur Center

Join Us
Youtube Icon
Linkedin Icon
Instagram Icon
Contact Icon