Open the Alert Ticker
COVID-19 Business Recovery
COVID-19 Business Resources
LEAD Hampton Roads Honors Seven Distinguished Leaders

LEAD Hampton Roads Honors Seven Distinguished Leaders
LEAD Hampton Roads Honors Seven Distinguished Leaders
LEAD Hampton Roads Honors Seven Distinguished Leaders

(from left) Aubrey Layne, Vince Mastracco, Suzanne Mastracco.  Layne received the award in 2010.  Photo courtesy of Kevin Schindler.On June 30, LEAD Hampton Roads (LHR) hosted its 23rd annual meeting and gala celebration at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott.  More than 350 business and community leaders attended the reception and dinner which honored seven distinguished leaders.  

Vince Mastracco, a partner at Kaufman & Canoles, received the 2011 First Citizen of Hampton Roads Award, recognizing him as a leader whose tireless efforts have led the Hampton Roads communities into greater partnership and prosperity.

(from left) The Honorable Will Howell, Delegate Chris Jones, and his wife Karen Jones.  Photo courtesy of Kevin Schindler.Delegate Chris Jones, Virginia House of Delegates, 76th Legislative District received the 2011 Regional Statesman Award. Jones promoted collegiality and cooperation beyond local boundaries by being mindful of regional impact and opportunities.

Chuck Harris, President & CEO of the YMCA of South Hampton Roads received this year’s Julian F. Hirst Award. Harris exemplifies excellence in leadership and civic responsibility.

(from left) John Padgett of McGuire Woods, Mike Braham of Cox Business, and Chuck Harris.  Photo courtesy of Kevin Schindler.Angelica D. Light, President & CEO of the Hampton Roads Community Foundation, received a Visionary Award for Non-Profits. Light has transformed this organization into a regional powerhouse that links donors and key leaders to solve critical community issues

John Broderick was given the Visionary Award for Education. As President of Old Dominion University, Broderick has displayed a dedicated commitment to making numerous and innovative contributions to the university and, in turn, the region.

Angelica Light.  Photo courtesy of Kevin Schindler.Raynor Taylor, RADM USN (Ret.), President of The Future of Hampton Roads, received the Visionary Award for Military.  Taylor has channeled his military leadership into raising awareness on regional transportation issues. His tenacity and focus have galvanized regional support for High Speed Rail.

Anne B. Shumadine, Founder & Chairman of Signature Financial, was honored with the Visionary Award for Business. Shumadine, through her company and other collaborations fosters innovation, job creation, and philanthropy throughout the region.

During the gathering, 2011 LHR Chair Greg French passed the gavel to incoming Chair Jeff Ainslie.  All proceeds from the event will benefit LHR’s youth programs “eXcel” and “Hampton Roads LAUNCH.” 

John Broderick.  Photo courtesy of Kevin Schindler.LEAD Hampton Roads is a program of the Hampton Roads Chamber of Commerce. Created in 1989 to identify, connect and support committed regional leaders, it is the largest and oldest leadership organization in the greater Hampton Roads region. Over 1,500 of its members work and volunteer in our communities to find innovative solutions across geographical, political, cultural and generational boundaries.

Thank you to sponsors: Cox Business (Presenting); Wilbanks, Smith & Thomas (Silver); and Inside Business (Media).

Ray Tayor and Mary Jane Taylor.  Photo courtesy of Kevin Schindler.

Join Us
Youtube Icon
Linkedin Icon
Instagram Icon
Contact Icon