Open the Alert Ticker
COVID-19 Business Recovery
COVID-19 Business Resources
Valor Awards Honors Local Heroes

Valor Awards Honors Local Heroes
Valor Awards Honors Local Heroes
Valor Awards Honors Local Heroes

The Hampton Roads Chamber of Commerce hosted the inaugural Valor Awards on the morning of April 19 at the Virginia Beach Convention Center. This event provided the Hampton Roads business community an opportunity to thank and recognize local police, fire and EMS personnel for extraordinary acts of courage and resourcefulness in the line of duty.  Nearly 300 were in attendance and heard the moving and inspiring accounts of bravery and amazing stories of the lives that were saved by these selfless rescuers.  WVEC-TV 13 News Anchor/Reporter Vanessa Coria served as emcee.

Award Winners

-Ultimate Sacrifice & Gold Medal of Valor: Officer James Winslow, Suffolk Police Department

-Silver Medal of Valor: Officer Jonathan Williams, Chesapeake Police Department

-Silver Medal of Valor: MPR Timothy Hamed & Officer Justin Trout, Virginia Beach Police Department

-Bronze Medal of Valor:  Probationary Police Officer Chelsea Parker, Virginia Beach Police Department

-Bronze Medals of Valor: Captain Brian Lee, Lieutenant Jerry Bohn, Firefighter Kyle Billips, Firefighter Charles Cook and Firefighter Kurt Johnson, Chesapeake Fire Department

Suffolk Mayor Linda Johnson hugs Suffolk Police Officer James Winslow as he’s awarded the Gold Medal of Valor and Ultimate Sacrifice Awards.  Suffolk Police Chief Thomas Bennett looks on, while Virginia Beach Police Chief Jim Cervera stands and applauds.

Lifesaving Awards:

Officer K.O. Aldrich, Norfolk Police Department

Senior Firefighter Joseph C. Asbell, Suffolk Fire Department

Officer W.E. Collard, Norfolk Police Department

Officer Edward Cunningham, Virginia Beach Police Department

Firefighter Medic II Terry S. Davenport, Suffolk Fire Department

Senior Firefighter David W. Dickens, Suffolk Fire Department

Sergeant Steve Jenkins, Portsmouth Police Department

Captain William T. Kessinger, Sr., Suffolk Fire Department

Mr. Barry Kirschner, Virginia Beach EMS

Lieutenant Taz A.  Lancaster, Suffolk Fire Department

Firefighter Medic II Colton S. Pulley, Suffolk Fire Department

Captain Chris Riley, Portsmouth Fire Department

Officer Jason Saburn, Chesapeake Police Department     
Officer C.J. Scallon, Norfolk Police Department

Officer Rachael Thomas, Chesapeake Police Department

The Excellence in Public Safety Award was given to the Virginia Beach Fire Department for their response to the FA-18 Jet Crash on April 6, 2012.

Thanks to sponsors: TowneBank (Presenting); JES Foundation Repair (Platinum); Virginia Beach Convention Center (Gold); Sentara Healthcare (Medal of Valor Sponsor); WVEC 13 News (Media); Dale Carnegie Training of Eastern Virginia-Wade Powell & Associates, GEICO, T2 Training- Trauma Training FX, Inc. (Silver). 

View additional photos.


Join Us
Youtube Icon
Linkedin Icon
Instagram Icon
Contact Icon